interprovincial travel restrictions

These are the interprovincial travel restrictions in Canada this summer

If you're thinking of taking an out-of-province trip, there's some things you need to know about interprovincial travel restrictions around Canada.

The rules vary from province-to-province, but almost all are discouraging travelling in-between them right now.

Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick have altogether banned out-of-province travellers, while Manitoba and Nova Scotia require anyone visiting to self-isolate for 14-days upon arrival.

Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Quebec have not formally banned travellers, but are actively discouraging the practice. 

While many provincial and national parks have reopened across the country, anyone from out-of-province looking to visit the campgrounds in Alberta, B.C. and Saskatchewan are not allowed to access them as they are only available to residents.

Some remote regions in Saskatchewan and Quebec have banned non-essential travel as well.

Similarly, Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Yukon have all restricted non-essential travel and require returning travellers to self-isolate for 14 days. 

For anyone planning to do a little road tripping as the weather warms up, it may be best to stick close to home.

Lead photo by


Join the conversation Load comments

Latest in Travel

This massive corn maze might be the largest in Canada

Canada's 4 biggest airports will now check temperatures of domestic passengers

Barbados wants Canadians to work there for a year

These are the interprovincial travel restrictions in Canada this summer

You can now take a virtual tour of some of Canada's most beautiful national parks

United Airlines just suspended all flights to Canada

10 of the most remote places in Canada to get away from it all

This bike path on rails in Canada comes with breathtaking lake and forest views