can Canadians fly to Europe

Canadians can now fly to these 27 countries in Europe starting this week

Good news for anyone thinking about jetting off to Europe. Canada has been chosen as one of 14 safe countries whose citizens will be allowed to visit anywhere within the EU from July 1. 

The announcement means that Canadian tourists will be welcome to travel to the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

The other non EU countries that have been deemed safe are Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Meanwhile, countries such as the United States, Russia and China were excluded from the list.

Countries were included on the safe list if the coronavirus outbreak in the country was judged to be the same or better than that EU average. 

The list will be reviewed every two weeks and adjusted depending on the coronavirus spread in each country.

Lead photo by

Alexander Kagan

Join the conversation Load comments

Latest in News

This is why we celebrate Canada Day

The weather forecast is calling for snow in parts of the country on Canada Day

Canada horrified after woman tells B.C. teens to go back to where they came from

Canadian Tire stores forced to close after every item scans in as Mr. Potato Head

Canada keeping border closed to foreign travellers for at least another month

Air Canada discontinues 30 domestic routes across the country

Canadian economy takes historic plunge with biggest drop in history

Canada is expecting a second wave of COVID-19 as things reopen and here's the plan